DVD Available

US$. 10.00 
Reviewed by films.lk on 2020-02-16 .
Rating: 3
Aswesuma - අස්වැසුම Fans : 0 Film No :951
59% |   1021  Vote(s)
1 2 3 4 5

Drama / Colour / 35 mm
Released Date :  2001-12-28
Main Actor : Joe Abeywickrama , Jackson Anthony
Main Actress : Sangeetha Weeraratne
Director : Bennett Rathnayake
Producer : Samanmalee Hewamanna , Bennett Rathnayake
SHARE ON Share on Google+ Share on twitt

The film revolving around an elderly man who regrets certain events in his past life displays his struggle to relieve the bottled up feelings which had disturbed him throughout his life. Opening with the funeral of the elderly Guneris' wife the film follows the revelation of his past which is filled with a number of tragic events including a triple murder he had committed 52 years ago.


Benette Ratnayake's internationally acclaimed maiden film "Aswesuma" (The Compensation) won seven awards including one for the best direction at the recently held 'Sarasavi' film festival in addition to several other international awards.'Aswesuma' earlier won Platinum Award for the Best First Feature at the 34th Houston IFF., Special Jury Award (Fipresci) by Federation of International Film Critics at the 4th Mumbai IFF. and Special Jury Award- Don Quijote at 7th Dhaka IFF. In addition the movie was an entry at other world renowned film festivals including Moscow IFF, Montreal IFF and Kerala IFF.


Photo Gallery
Aswesuma Aswesuma Aswesuma Aswesuma 
Film Cast
joe bushjoe bush
Priyanka SamaraweeraPriyanka Samaraweera
Dee Ga. SomapalaDee Ga. Somapala
Susil GunarathnaSusil Gunarathna
Daya WimanDaya Wiman
Ravindra RandeniyaRavindra Randeniya
Joe AbeywickramaJoe Abeywickrama
Jackson AnthonyJackson Anthony
Douglas RanasingheDouglas Ranasinghe
Mahendra PereraMahendra Perera
Sangeetha WeeraratneSangeetha Weeraratne
Hemasiri LiyanageHemasiri Liyanage
Indrajith NavinnaIndrajith Navinna
Saumya LiyanageSaumya Liyanage
Nalin Pradeep UdawelaNalin Pradeep Udawela
Achini lankaAchini lanka
Dayananda JayawardaneDayananda Jayawardane
Gamini HettiarachchiGamini Hettiarachchi
Giriraj KaushalyaGiriraj Kaushalya
Edward GunawardanaEdward Gunawardana
Oruthota heenmenikaOruthota heenmenika
Hans j nowekHans j nowek
Ranjith WickramasingheRanjith Wickramasinghe
Film Crew

Lionel Gunarathna
Sound Management
Ranjith Wickramasinghe
Ranjith Wickramasinghe
Make-up Artists

Channa Deshapriya
Samanmalee Hewamanna
Samanmalee Hewamanna

Bennett Rathnayake
Stanley De Alwis
Stanley De Alwis
Harsha Makalanda
Harsha Makalanda
Music Director
Sena Mambulage
Sena Mambulage
Art Director

Imal Shanaka Peiris
Make-up Artists

Bennett Rathnayake

Bennett Rathnayake
Facebook Comments
A project by isandi CREATIONS